Wise words from mama

Learning a new language can be a lot of fun…and can be very frustrating.
Strangely enough, I didn’t realize just how helpful being able to speak Slovak would be.  I mean I knew having English and French definitely would be helpful.  Although, french is partly a hindrance, since it chose now to come back with a vengeance.  I never would have guessed there would be so many similarity with Slovak.  In terms of words and grammar.  Very cool.  Not that having any of these languages is helping me speak or understand better.  Especially when my home stay and half the village speaks Quechua, but it’s still fun to learn the similarity and mumble, and sign language my way through a conversation.
As for the wise words from my mother, when I expressed my frustration about learning Spanish.  After saying the obvious, that I have to high expectations of myself and I should try and build my vocabulary etc, etc.  She then said, “Well you now know what it is like to be an immigrant and trying to learn a new language,  Just hope you don’t have a baby before you learn the language like I did.”  Wow!  Words to live by.  I’m not sure if that means I should learn Spanish faster or be more careful.  Thanks mom!!! 
Leave a Reply

